POSTCARDS FROM A GLUTEN FREE LIFE


Busaba Eathai
February 17, 2010, 2:49 pm
Filed under: Eating out, Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Busaba Eathai is a great, fun and friendly Thai restaurant with a few locations around London. I recently ate at the branch on Store Street. I had the Thai Green Chicken Curry and some Chicken Satay and Prawns Pomelo(amazing). I shared this meal with my gluten loving friends and it was stress free and easy. I emailed the helpful team there and below is the mail back which details what food you can order. I let them know when I arrived so they would be extra cautious. The sauvignon blanc I had with it was great. This place is cheap and cheerful and great for both regular folk and GF.

http://www.busaba.com
http://www.squaremeal.co.uk/restaurants/london/view/80309/Busaba_Eathai

Thank you for your email. I have listed below the dishes that you will be able to eat at Busaba.

Gluten free dishes
Som Tam
Prawns pomelo
Char-grilled rib eye beef (without marinade)
Asparagus fried rice (without soy sauce)
Green chicken curry
Green vegetable curry
Stargazer monkfish green curry
Aromatic curry
Jungle curry
Red lamb curry
Muslim beef curry
Chicken satay
Chicken wings
Wild mushroom (without soy sauce)

Hope that this information helps you. When you do come into the restaurant please also inform your server so that they are able to assist you.

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Yen
_________________________________
Yen Lai
Food & Beverage Assistant
_________________________________

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I went to Busaba today for the first time as a coeliac (after being a huge fan before diagnosis a few years ago) and I was less than impressed. The list of foods I was told I could eat was much smaller than that given above; the waiter started telling me one list from memory, then went to check and came back to say another list from memory. He didn’t mention the soy sauce in the asparagus rice, which I ordered and which looked like it had soy sauce on (though when I asked another waitress to check I was told it was fine but then the original waitor came back to reassure me about the other dish so I’m still not convinced that what I ate was actually gluten free). I’m also very puzzled by the concept of putting eheat flour in the coconut rice, which the waitor assured me is the traditional way of cooking all flavoured rice but is definitely not the way I’ve been taught to cook coconut rice when in Asia. He refused to offer me just plain rice instead, claiming that they couldn’t make it. The food I ate was tasty, but I wouldn’t say it’s a gluten-free friendly restaurant.

Comment by Heather

I was so excited about this before I read the above comment. That was one of my favourite restaurants prior to becoming a coeliac and just for a moment I thought I could revisit. Don’t think I would risk it now though. Thanks for the informative post.

Comment by Lee

I have never had a problem there. Try the Store st branch they are suer helpful.

Comment by senzagluten




Leave a Reply

