POSTCARDS FROM A GLUTEN FREE LIFE


The Pantechnicon
August 24, 2010, 7:28 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

So the in-laws are in town and even though I am probably well beyond stage where I can impress them, I still try to take them to places that show I a) possess wonderful taste and b) am an excellent match for their very charming son. I say it’s too late as they have shared a hotel room with me in Paris (one room, 4 people, you do the math), they have stayed in ourLondon flat (so been privy to all my annoying habits) and seen me a few sheets to the wind. Never the less I persist. 

Anywho we decided the perfect way to spend a Sunday would be at one of our favourite local-ish places for Sunday lunch. There is something about Sunday lunch in London which is infinitely charming. Relaxed, unobtrusive and warmly inviting and plenty of time to relax with a paper and mentally prepare for the week ahead. So off we went on our Sunday mission and after a few quick stop-offs at Harvey Nicks and a peruse around Knightsbridge we headed to The Pantechnicon on Motcomb st.

The restaurant is sister to the über lovely Belgravia gastropub The Thomas Cubitt.  The Sunday lunch is gorgeous, very rustic and the menu will have you in fits of panic about what you cannot possibly bear to miss. The place itself is  casual dining come gastro come brassiere. I am always a little wary of Sunday lunches so instead of going for the whole hog I went for one of the grills. I let the waitress know about my allergy and they let the chef know to avoid any confusion. In the end I had a gorgeous rib eye with rosemary and garlic mash and a red wine jus. I also ordered some green beans as a side.

As usual the food was divine and with a couple of glasses of house prosecco, I was in a very good place. The in-laws and BF opted for the full roast and as you can see from the pics they were not disappointed.

On Sunday I would recommend getting there fairly early as the place gets very busy. The staff are friendly and efficient and the cost for sunday lunch is around £25pp including drinks. I would heartly recommend a visit, great for gf and regular folk alike.

http://www.thepantechnicon.com/

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

